top of page
Search
  • Megan Cox

Annual Welfare

Every year, I'd meet a people

with features so divine.

With stormy eyes and narrow lips,

their faces looked like mine.


Their skin held no wrinkles;

never touched by time.

But they revealed ages

and mirrored every crime.


They called me self-centered

when I heard my grandfather died.

I told them, "Do not call me selfish.

"That was when I learned to say goodbye."


They said that I was heartless

for leaving old friends behind.

I said, "It hurt me in my heart,

but I was seeking peace of mind."


They told me I was fickle

for slamming all the doors.

I cried out, "I was never angry,

"I just needed to make some noise."


I grew tired of their questions.

How could they not see?

I'd never done any wrong.

I was only learning to be me.


These people were never real

but they remind me each year

that there was growth in my struggles

and strength in every tear.

23 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentários


bottom of page